newsletterlibrary.com
Top : Science : Agriculture :
Databases

Websites
Established to provide a single-point access to a vast store of widely distributed biotechnology data. Information resources for agricultural, pharmaceutical, and other fields of biotechnology.
site exerpt
SWBIC Southwest Biotechnology and Informatics Center  Solve mysteries using forensic techniques. DoD Biotech Resources Minority Student Resources Bioinformatics Tools Search Internet Resources [Products and Services Internet Resources Educational Resources] Parentage testing services are offered by SWBIC's Genetic Testing Laboratory. The Southwest...
http://www.swbic.org

Information management and dissemination on desertification, gender and sustainable development, food standards, animal genetic resources, post-harvest operations, agro-biodiversity and food systems in urban centres.
site exerpt
 Making a mark in information management FAO releases training package on creating digital libraries 20May2005 New EasyPol Web site launched 3February2005 The AGORA initiative celebrates its first anniversary. 19January2005 FAO Tsunami portal now online More...
http://www.fao.org/waicent/

Crop, common weed, and noxious weed seed database displaying seed photos and seed identification characteristics.
http://www.geocities.com/seedimages

The system integrates country-based information from FAO's thematic and statistical databases. Provides country profiles on the state of food, nutrition and agriculture.
http://www.fao.org/countryprofiles

Allows for searching journal titles and with login, full text articles. In Arabic, English, French and Spanish. Sponsored by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. All users may browse journal abstracts without login.
site exerpt
 N in order to use article searching and to be able to access the full text of the journal articles. All users may browse journal abstracts without login. You may still have full-text access through...
http://www.aginternetwork.org/en/journals.php

Features tab separated data sets for downloading provided by the US Department of Agriculture.
site exerpt
Agricultural Outlook Yearbook, 1960-1991 (87011)  Help on using these files is available. tab01a.wk1 tab01b.wk1 tab01c.wk1 tab01d.wk1 tab02a.wk1 tab02b.wk1 tab03a.wk1 tab03b.wk1 tab03c.wk1 tab04a.wk1 tab04b.wk1 tab05a.wk1 tab05b.wk1 tab06a.wk1 tab06b.wk1 tab06c.wk1 tab06d.wk1 tab06e.wk1 tab07a.wk1 tab07b.wk1 tab07c.wk1 tab07d.wk1 tab08a.wk1 tab08b.wk1 tab09a.wk1 tab09b.wk1 tab09c.wk1 tab09d.wk1...
http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/data-sets/general/87011/

Contains searchable data descriptions of USDA funded research, including soil, crop and plant, forest, rangeland, and animal sciences. Data provided in the Directory Interchange Format (DIF).
site exerpt
AGROS Agricultural Research Directory  Directory is a collection of data descriptions of USDA funded research, including soil, crop and plant, forest, rangeland, animal sciences, and other natural resource research areas, as well as economics, population, and food safety. It...
http://agros.usda.gov/

USDA funded portal offers descriptions of current and completed research projects. Find funding summaries, process charts, salary analysis, and a classification manual.
site exerpt
Current Research Information System (CRIS/USDA)  Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in a number of USDA-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation...
http://cris.csrees.usda.gov/

The National Archives and Records Administration provides access to statistical reports that include crop and cattle inventory estimates. Includes production estimates broken down by state.
http://www.archives.gov/research...ords/agriculture_department.html

National Agricultural Statistics Service portal offers search for statistics by year, state and commodity. Features US maps and graphical reports.
site exerpt
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS Agricultural Chemical Use Database  This site provides interactive access to data from NASS, as part of a cooperative effort among USDA, the USDA Regional Pest Management Centers and the NSF Center for Integrated Pest Management (CIPM All data available...
http://www.pestmanagement.info/nass/

The USDA Foreign Agricultural Service's Production, Supply and Distribution (PS&D) contains current and historical official data on production, supply and distribution of agricultural goods for the United States and key producing and consuming countries. Download complete raw data files or browse by predefined tables.
site exerpt
PS&D Online: Intro/Tables  Please be advised that beginning May 13, 2004 that several Production Supply and Distribution (PS&D) Online country groupings and several country spellings are changing. Five new country groups will be added. The EU-15 is expanded...
http://www.fas.usda.gov/psd/

A resource and information centre with detailed information on a large range of edible and other useful plants. Most are from temperate regions.
site exerpt
PFAF Database Search  Would you like to use the database at home? You can download a copy of the database or get a copy on CD-ROM. Either: Search by Name, Common Name or Family. Search for an Edible,...
http://www.ibiblio.org/pfaf/D_search.html

Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/

SINGER, the CGIAR system-wide information network for genetic resources of crop, forage and tree germplasm.
http://singer.cgiar.org/

Portal sponsored by the USDA's Eastern Regional Research Center offers search by title, author, keywords and ERRC publication number. Many of the results produced contain links to full text articles in PDF format.
site exerpt
ERRC Publication Search  This database searches an index of publications originating from Eastern Regional Research Center since its opening in 1939. After a search is conducted, the full text of many publications is available in PDF format. Note:...
http://wyndmoor.arserrc.gov/vstaff/pubsearch.html